Asheville Citizen Times: More important to get justice right than quick.

By WNCDPR Leader Jean Parks,

“I appreciate victims’ rights being brought into the ongoing discussion about the death penalty (“Victims’ rights,” AC-T letters, Sept. 29), however, I challenge the implication that murder victims’ families support the death penalty. Some victims’ families do, but many of us do not. My sister was murdered in Raleigh in 1975. I was relieved at the time that the death penalty was not considered for the defendant. I’m more relieved now because I learned recently the convicted man might be the wrong man. What I need as a victim is that the devastating harm to my sister and her family be recognized, that the right person(s) be identified, held accountable and prevented from killing again, and that the investigation be done and a resolution be reached in a timely way. But it is more important to get it right than to get it quickly. Even if the authorities got the right guy, I would find no peace in another life being ended. I believe in the sanctity of all human lives, even the worst of the worst. It is a true burden to me that many supporters of the death penalty claim execution is necessary for families to feel justice has been done.”

Available here: More important to get justice right than quick

One Response to Asheville Citizen Times: More important to get justice right than quick.

  1. Brigida says:

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always interesting to read content from other authors and use something from their sites.

Leave a Reply

