Opinion: Mistaken Conviction Leads to Regret

“As a 22-year-old college student in Burlington, I was brutally raped at knifepoint by a man who broke into my apartment while I slept. During the crime, I studied every feature of my rapist’s face — and my testimony sent a black man to prison for life.

Eleven years later, I found out I had identified the wrong man.”

A guest columnist for the Winston Salem Journal confronts her own unconscious racial bias that sent an innocent man to jail for sharing the same race as the real culprit.  When dealing the potential execution of a human being any bias that could lead to a false conviction must be eliminated.

Further information available in the article…

«Mistaken Conviction Leads to Regret

Leave a Reply

